Revisiting my Conference Semifinal Playoff Predicitions

One thing that really bothers me with sportswriters are those who write about sports and make predictions, is a lack of follow up on those predictions.  And so, I will go through and analyze the predictions I made for the second round of the NBA Playoffs.  In particular, I will look at the predictions I made using my head, not my heart, as those were my logical, thought out, barely pseudo-expert picks.

Eastern Conference

#5 Boston Celtics  vs. #8 Philadelphia 76ers

My Prediction – Celtics in Five

The Result – Celtics in Seven.   I seriously underestimated Philly’s resiliency and Boston’s overall ability in picking the Celtics in five games.  In what turned out to be an utter unwatchable series(I picked that part spot on!), the Celtics allowed a far inferior team to stick around for seven games, which will certainly result in an even more tired, old-ass Celtics team losing even faster in the next round.  I wish I could say certain moments from this series stand out in my head…but they don’t.  I would even go so far as to say that this is probably the least exciting seven game series I can recall.

#2 Miami Heat vs. #3 Indiana Pacers

My Prediction – Heat in Five

The Result – Heat in Six.  The Heat lose Chris Bosh. The Pacers use great team basketball, combined with the Heat playing like boneheads, to assume a “commanding” two games to one lead in the series.  Yet even with nearly everything going right, you knew the Pacers could not pull this series out.  They are a fun team and a good story and good on them for improving greatly this season, but the Heat are on another level.  This is unfortunate, because my dreams of a Pacers/76ers Eastern Conference finals that no one would watch, would have been great.  But in the NBA Playoffs, in a seven game series, the more talented team is going to win out, 9 out of 10 times.  I will say, it will be interesting to see how the Pacers proceed in the offseason, as they are a team which spend wisely and are in a good spot to make further moves and lock up some important pieces (i.e. Roy Hibbert) long term.

Western Conference

#1 San Antonio Spurs vs. #5 L.A. Clippers

My Prediction – Spurs in Five

The Result – Spurs in Four.  As predicted, the Clippers peaked with their exciting first round defeat of the Memphis Grizzlies and really never stood a chance against the more talented/experienced Spurs.  Speaking of the Spurs, when will people forgive this team for being a defense-minded, slow-tempo offensive team and realize that they are one of the most fun teams to watch in the NBA?  They showed in this series, by beating the Clippers, one of the most supposed “fun” teams in the NBA, which this version of the Spurs can provide all of the offensive fireworks necessary; winning their four games by an average of 14 points.  The only question now is will this Spurs team lose a game in the Playoffs?

#2 Oklahoma Thunder vs. #3 L.A. Lakers

My Prediction – Lakers in Seven

The Result – Thunder in Five.  Goes to show what I know.  I ignored reason, my heart and all of the evidence right in front of my face and picked the Lakers and their veteran savvy over the downright youthful dominance of the Thunder.  The Thunder got outstanding production out of James Harden, Russell Westbrook proved to everyone that he is a legit superstar and Kevin Durant took his place as one of, if not the most dominant player in the NBA.  The Lakers for their part are probably seeing the end of this core group, as all season long, they could never really put it all together as a group, instead relying far too much on an aging Kobe Bryant for their scoring and defense.

The End Results

Second Round – 3-1

Overall Record – 8-4.  If not for being an idiot with that Lakers/Thunder series, I would have been perfect in the second round…so it goes.  All in all, I have picked correctly 67% of the time, which I’ll take.  If I can run the table from here on out, I can up that number to 75%.  I’m not saying I should start a career as a professional gambler, but then again…..

How did you do?

 

 

 

About Left Hook from Right Field

The extraordinary everyman's guide to what makes my world tick.
This entry was posted in NBA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

