Where the Fuck Am I…an opening blog.

Its April 22nd 2012.  I’m sitting in a garage in Clarksville, Tennessee.  Somewhere nearby, a guy is cutting his grass.  If he bothered to turn off his mower, he’d hear the drone of the racetrack, located a couple of miles away.  I just ate a burger from a shitty chain restaurant, but that’s pretty much as good as it gets around here, seriously, I looked it up on Yelp.  Five of the top ten restaurants for this town are chains.  That would drive my friends in Atlanta crazy.  But I digress.

I’m only going to live here another couple of weeks.  You see, I’m an officer in the army.   I’m a paratrooper and I take that pretty seriously.  I have been stationed at Ft. Campbell, Kentucky for two years.  But the time has come, because Uncle Sam said so, to go on to Afghanistan and continue a time honored tradition of American greatness.  But, that isn’t the point of this little exercise, my point is to take a look at where I’m at and reflect and talk about how weird it is and then tell you all about this blog and why I’m writing it and what you can expect.

Clarksville, Tennessee.  I don’t know what I’m doing here.  If you had asked me five years ago where I’d be, I wouldn’t have guessed anything close to this.  Five years ago, that was when I graduated college, 2007, I was 22 years old and I was at the most creative point in my life.  As the great poet Tony Soprano said, “he’s got life by the balls.”  I had a lot of crazy stuff rolling around in my head and put so much of it to paper.  Over the years, more crazy stuff rolled around in my head and I frequently put it down to paper, saving it, always talking about the mystical day I’d start my blog.

Well, as tends to happen, I let life get away from me.  Not that I wasn’t living mind you.  I fell in love, fell out of love, quit music, bought a car, drank beer, got arrested, joined the army, fell in love again, fell out of love again, lost a lot of my hearing in a tank accident, fell back in love, jumped out of planes, bought a house, blew things up, purchased my dream guitar and bought enough cds to fill a blockbuster music…if those still existed.

But one thing I never did was fulfill my creative side by starting my blog.  I would always tell friends and family that I was going to get this thing going.  I did some writings on the internet, but honestly, the most prolific writing I did, was probably commenting on my friend’s facebook status updates.  Until a couple of weeks ago and I decided that it was time.  I really need to get this thing going, because not doing so is really starting to hurt me, to stifle me.

So here it is.  Left Hook Right Field.  I stole the name from an Armored Saint song.  That will probably either get me some serious heavy metal cred points or it will get me sued one day.  I’m good either way.  One of the things that always made me pause in starting my blog was a splattering of interests all across the board.  I felt I would need to have four or five separate blogs in order to cover everything.  Then one day, I said, fuck it.  I mean, seriously, who am I kidding?  Six people are going to read this thing anyways, so I’m just going to post whatever I want.  Some days it may be sports posts, others it may be music reviews or it may be heartbroken poetry from when I was 17 years old.

In the end, I just want to be creative and get these thoughts out of my head and onto digital paper.  Maybe someone else will read this and get some entertainment out of it too.  That’d be pretty nifty, I suppose.  And so, here I sit, in a place I never knew I’d be, yet doing something I always knew I’d do.  I look forward to working with all of you.

About Left Hook from Right Field

The extraordinary everyman's guide to what makes my world tick.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where the Fuck Am I…an opening blog.

  1. Richard Hammond says:

    A great start, glad you’re putting yourself out there!

Leave a Reply

